June 15, 2017

Lee, Pelosi, Harris, Feinstein Introduce Resolution Congratulating Warriors Epic Championship Run

Washington, D.C. –Representatives Barbara Lee and Nancy Pelosi and Senators Kamala Harris and Dianne Feinstein (all D-Calif.) today introduced a bicameral congressional resolution congratulating the Golden State Warriors on their NBA Finals victory over the Cleveland Cavaliers.

“As a proud member of Dub Nation, I am excited to celebrate this remarkable victory for the Warriors, securing their second NBA Championship in three years,” Representative Lee said. “The outstanding lineup led by Team Captains Steph Curry and Andre Igoudala and Finals MVP Kevin Durant, as well as Warriors Ownership, Coaches Steve Kerr and Mike Brown are an inspiration to the  Oakland community and the entire Bay Area. I look forward to continued victories for years to come.”

“It has always been my deep conviction that sports bring us together as a country,” Representative Pelosi said. “In this spirit, it is my great honor to congratulate the Golden State Warriors on their well-deserved Championship Victory!  Steph Curry, Kevin Durant, Draymond Green and the rest of the Warriors performed with heart, tenacity and unbelievable skill.  They have made all of us in Dub Nation, once again, so proud.”

“As Finals MVP Kevin Durant said, ‘We did it.’  I want to congratulate KD, Steph, Klay, Draymond, Coach Kerr, and the rest of this incredible Golden State team on their second championship in three years and one of the all-time great playoff runs in professional sports history. The Dubs played with heart, they played with skill, and they played like champions. I’d be honored to join my California colleagues in welcoming this inspirational team to the U.S. Capitol,” Senator Harris said.

“It’s fair to say that with yesterday’s championship win, the Warriors are now a full-fledged NBA dynasty,” Senator Feinstein said. “With amazing performances by MVP Kevin Durant, superstars Steph Curry, Klay Thompson, Draymond Green and the rest of the team, the Dubs gave us a historic playoff performance, just one game shy of an undefeated postseason record. The team’s focus on the championship was impressive, and I couldn’t be prouder that the title is back in the Bay where it belongs.”

The text of the resolution follows:

Congratulating the Golden State Warriors for their historic championship victory in the 2017 National Basketball Association Finals.

Whereas, on June 12, 2017, the Golden State Warriors defeated the Cleveland Cavaliers by a score of 129–120 in an extraordinary game 5 at Oracle Arena in Oakland, California, to win the 2017 National Basketball Association (referred to in the preamble as the ‘‘NBA’’) Finals;

Whereas the Golden State Warriors captured their second championship in 3 years, and their fifth championship in franchise history;

Whereas the 2017 championship victory marks the first time a Bay Area professional sports team has clinched a championship title at home in 43 years;

Whereas in 2017 the Golden State Warriors had the NBA’s best regular-season record with 67 wins, capping an extraordinary 3-year run, during which the Warriors won a record-setting 207 regular season games;

Whereas the Golden State Warriors finished the post-season 16–1, which constitutes the best post-season record in the 71-year history of the NBA;

Whereas every single member of the 2016–2017 Golden State Warriors team contributed to this championship, including Matt Barnes, Ian Clark, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, Draymond Green, Andre Iguodala, Damian Jones, Shaun Livingston, Kevon Looney, James Michael McAdoo, Patrick McCaw, JaVale McGee, ZaZa Pachulia, Klay Thompson, and David West;

Whereas Kevin Durant became just the sixth player to score 30 or more points in each game of a championship round, and was named Most Valuable Player of the NBA Finals;

Whereas Steve Kerr, Mike Brown, and the entire team of coaches and staff have been instrumental in developing the Golden State Warriors’ dynamic and record-setting style of play, and have fostered a positive, selfless team spirit;

Whereas Joe Lacob and Peter Guber have built one of the most exciting and high-performing franchises in NBA history;

Whereas the dedicated fan base of Golden State Warriors has offered unrelenting, passionate support to the team;

and Whereas, both on and off the court, the Golden State Warriors are an immense source of pride for the Bay Area and the entire Golden State Warrior fan base: Now,

therefore, be it Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the Golden State Warriors for winning the 2017 National Basketball Association Finals;

(2) recognizes the historic achievements of all the players, coaches, and staff who contributed to the 2016–2017 season; and

(3) celebrates the selfless teamwork and extraordinary character, pride, determination, and hard-work of the Golden State Warriors.