March 17, 2021

Congresswoman Barbara Lee Applauds House Reintroduction of Medicare for All

Washington, D.C. — Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA-13) today joined Representatives Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) and Debbie Dingell (MI-12) in introducing the Medicare for All Act of 2021 as an original cosponsor. This landmark bill is supported by more than half of House Democrats and provides comprehensive benefits to all with no copays, private insurance premiums, deductibles, or other cost-sharing.  

This legislation is being introduced today exactly one year after COVID-19 was confirmed in all 50 states and D.C.  This devastating public health crisis, which has taken the lives of more 540,000 people in the U.S., and disproportionately impacted communities of color, has only underscored how the country’s current health care system leaves millions behind. 

“In the wealthiest country on earth, it is unacceptable that nearly 100 million people are uninsured, and many denied quality care, especially in the midst of a devastating public health crisis,” said Congresswoman Lee. “Medicare for All ensures that everyone, including communities who have been hit hardest by this pandemic, can access the care they need no matter their employment status or how much money is in their pocket.  

“This transformative legislation reaffirms heath care as a basic human right and will help ensure the health and wellbeing of our communities. I thank Representatives Jayapal and Dingell for their leadership on this issue and look forward to continuing this fight alongside my colleagues”

The Medicare for All Act builds upon and expands Medicare to provide comprehensive benefits to every person in the United States. This includes primary care, vision, dental, prescription drugs, mental health, substance abuse, long-term services and supports, reproductive health care, and more.

This legislation also includes universal coverage of long-term care with no cost-sharing for older Americans and individuals with disabilities and prioritizes home and community-based care over institutional care. Additionally, patients have the freedom to choose the doctors, hospitals, and other providers they wish to see without worrying about whether a provider is in-network. 

The Medicare for All Act of 2021 is endorsed by 300 local, state, and national organizations that represent nurses, doctors, business owners, unions, and racial justice organizations. This includes Physicians for a National Health Program, Public Citizen, National Nurses United, Center for Popular Democracy, People’s Action, Social Security Works, Labor Campaign for Single Payer, SEIU, and hundreds more. 

For a full list of endorsing organizations, click here.

The Medicare for All Act of 2021 is co-sponsored by 14 committee chairs and several key leadership Members. Co-sponsors include Alma S. Adams Ph.D., Nanette Diaz Barragán, Karen Bass, Don Beyer, Earl Blumenauer, Suzanne Bonamici, Jamaal Bowman, Brendan F. Boyle, Anthony Brown, Cori Bush, Salud Carbajal, Tony Cárdenas, André Carson, Matt Cartwright, Judy Chu, David Cicilline, Katherine Clark, Yvette D. Clarke, Emanuel Cleaver, II, Steve Cohen, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Danny K. Davis, Peter DeFazio, Diana DeGette, Mark DeSaulnier, Lloyd Doggett, Mike Doyle, Ted Deutch, Veronica Escobar, Adriano Espaillat, Teresa Leger Fernandez, Lois Frankel, Ruben Gallego, Jesús G. “Chuy” García, Jimmy Gomez, Al Green, Raúl M. Grijalva, Josh Harder, Alcee L. Hastings, Jahana Hayes, Brian Higgins, Jared Huffman, Sara Jacobs, Hakeem Jeffries, Hank Johnson, Mondaire Jones, Kaiali’i Kahele, William R. Keating, Robin L. Kelly, Ro Khanna, Daniel T. Kildee, Ann Kirkpatrick, James R. Langevin, Brenda L. Lawrence, Sheila Jackson Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Ted W. Lieu, Alan Lowenthal, Carolyn B. Maloney, James P. McGovern, Jerry McNerney, Gregory W. Meeks, Grace Meng, Jerrold Nadler, Grace F. Napolitano, Joe Neguse, Marie Newman, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Frank Pallone Jr., Jimmy Panetta, Donald Payne Jr., Ed Perlmutter, Chellie Pingree, Mark Pocan, Katie Porter, Ayanna Pressley, Jamie Raskin, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Bobby L. Rush, Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, Linda Sanchez, John Sarbanes, Jan Schakowsky, Adam Schiff, Robert C. “Bobby” Scott, Brad Sherman, Adam Smith, Jackie Speier, Eric Swalwell, Mark Takano, Bennie G. Thompson, Mike Thompson, Dina Titus, Rashida Tlaib, Paul Tonko, Ritchie Torres, Lori Trahan, Juan Vargas, Marc Veasey, Nydia M. Velázquez, Maxine Waters, Peter Welch, Susan Wild, Nikema Williams, Frederica Wilson, and John Yarmuth.

To view the text of the legislation, click here