June 10, 2014

Congresswoman Lee Issues a Statement Regarding the Passing of Albany Mayor Peggy Thomsen

For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Contact: Katherine Jolly, (510)-763-0370


Washington, D.C.—Today, Congresswoman Barbara Lee issued the following statement regarding the passing of Albany Mayor Peggy Thomsen:

“I am deeply saddened by the passing of Albany Mayor Peggy Thomsen, and my thoughts and prayers go out to her friends, family and the entire Albany community.

“Mayor Thomsen was a consummate public servant whose commitment to local government and service to the community was unmatched.  A 47 year resident of Albany, California, Thomsen was serving her fourth term as mayor.   Prior to being elected to mayor, she spent 14 years on the City Council (1996-2004 and 2008-14) and previously served 16 years on the Albany Unified School District School Board.

“Peggy Thompson was passionate about education.  After earning her B.A. and M.A. degrees at California State University, Fresno, Mayor Thomsen went on to earn a Ph.D. in Educational Administration from U.C. Berkeley.   She took great pride in teaching a  Heald College, where she taught  up until the time of her passing.  Her commitment to her students at was demonstrated in the Teacher Enrichment and the Teacher of the Year Awards she received from Heald College.

“Additionally, she was the recipient of service awards from the Albany Unified School District,  California State Parent Teacher Association, March of Dimes,  Albany Jaycees and countless others.

“My heartfelt condolences go out to the family and friends of Mayor Peggy Thomsen.  Her legacy will live on in the hearts and minds of all of those whom she inspired.”


Follow Barbara Lee on Facebook and Twitter at @RepBarbaraLee. To learn more, visit lee.house.gov.

Congresswoman Lee is a member of the Appropriations and Budget Committees, the Steering and Policy Committee, is a Senior Democratic Whip, as well as the Whip of the Congressional Progressive Caucus (CPC), where she serves as the Co-Chair of the CPC Peace and Security Task Force.