Congresswoman Barbara Lee Gathers Over 200 Congressional Democrats to Combat Hunger in America

August 13, 2013
Contact: Carrie Adams (202) 225-2661

Washington, D.C.— Today, Congresswoman Barbara Lee joined with Reps. Fudge, DeLauro, and McGovern to release a letter signed by over 200 Democratic Members of the House of Representatives addressed to Speaker Boehner which expresses deep concern over the funding status of our nation’s seminal anti-hunger program, The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), and calls for Republican leadership to restore funding to the final Farm Bill.

The letter reads, “Unfortunately, the Republican leadership recently forced through a Farm Bill reauthorization, H.R. 2642, which did not include the nutrition title, a major part of the Farm Bill that would reauthorize SNAP. We voted against this bill in large part because of this intentional omission. We strongly believe in the critical importance of SNAP.”


Congresswoman Lee said, “Not only is this an incredible accomplishment that we have gathered nearly every Democrat in the House to sign this letter, but the stakes for America’s vulnerable and hungry families could not be higher.”


Earlier this year, when Republicans proposed $20 billion in cuts to SNAP, more than two dozen Members of the House joined Congresswoman Lee to take the SNAP Challenge, where Members committed to living off the average SNAP benefit: just $1.50 per meal. Recent reports suggest that in the next round of negotiations, Congressional Republicans will double their efforts and propose $40 billion in cuts.


“We are sending an unequivocal message: we will not vote for bills that increase hunger in America. Our nation’s seniors, families, and children deserve nothing less,” said Congresswoman Lee.


Full text of the letter can be found here.



Follow Barbara Lee on Facebook and Twitter at @RepBarbaraLee. To learn more, visit lee.house.gov.


Congresswoman Barbara Lee is a former Co-Chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus (CPC) and currently serves as CPC Whip and Chair of the Task Force on Global Peace and Security.