June 04, 2014

Congresswoman Barbara Lee Marks Caribbean American Heritage Month

Wednesday, June 4th, 2014
Contact: Katherine Jolly (510) 763-0370

Washington, D.C. — Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D-CA) offered the following statement on her resolution marking June as National Caribbean American Heritage Month:
“It’s an honor to celebrate June as Caribbean American Heritage Month and the unique relationship between the United States and the Caribbean region. Our history and culture have been enriched by our Caribbean neighbors and this month is a wonderful time to reflect on our common past.  From trade, energy and immigration to HIV/AIDS and disaster preparedness, the United States and the Caribbean benefit from a number of mutual policy interests. I was proud to reintroduce my Caribbean American Heritage Month Resolution, H. Res. 610, recognizing the significance of the Caribbean people and their many contributions to the United States. I will continue to work with partners in the Caribbean and Caribbean American communities to further these policy goals and celebrate the deep ties we share. This month, and every month, I encourage you to join me in celebrating the Caribbean American community.”
Congresswoman Lee has led the effort to establish June as Caribbean American Heritage Month over the last several years. In June 2005, the House of Representatives unanimously adopted H. Con. Res. 71, authored by Congresswoman Lee, recognizing the significance of Caribbean people and their descendants in the history and culture of the United States.  On February 14, 2006, the resolution passed the Senate, culminating a two-year, bipartisan and bicameral effort. Since the resolution’s passage, the White House has issued an annual proclamation recognizing June as Caribbean American Heritage Month.  President Obama issued this year’s proclamation on May 30.

Follow Barbara Lee on Facebook and Twitter at @RepBarbaraLee. To learn more, visit lee.house.gov.

Congresswoman Lee is a member of the Appropriations and Budget Committees, the Steering and Policy Committee, is a Senior Democratic Whip, as well as the Whip of the Congressional Progressive Caucus (CPC), where she serves as the Co-Chair of the CPC Peace and Security Task Force.